Saturday, 26 March 2016

Release dates for Tad Williams's THE HEART OF WHAT WAS LOST and THE WITCHWOOD CROWN confirmed

DAW Books have confirmed the release date for Tad Williams's next Osten Ard novel, set in the same world as his classic trilogy Memory, Sorrow and Thorn. The Heart of What Was Lost will be published on 3 January 2017. Hodder & Stoughton in the UK is expected to release the novel in the UK around the same date.

The Heart of What Was Lost is a "short novel" (368 pages, also known as "a normal-sized novel" for everyone else) that will bridge the gap between Memory, Sorrow and Thorn and The Last King of Osten Ard, Williams's sequel trilogy. The first volume of that trilogy, The Witchwood Crown, will be released just three months later in April 2017.

The blurb:
A short sequel to the epic Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy, which propelled Tad Williams into bestseller status and defined him as one of the most important fantasy writers of our time.

The Heart of What Was Lost is a direct sequel to Tad Williams’ To Green Angel Tower, the New York Times bestselling third volume of his high fantasy trilogy, Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn. Heart takes place between the end of that beloved novel and its year-later epilogue, and tells the story of how newly-crowned King Simon and Queen Miriamele’s forces, drove the Norns, the most human-antagonistic fae race, back into their mountain stronghold and out of the lands of men. Combining characters from the first trilogy and the upcoming second trilogy, The Heart of What Was Lost is a perfect bridge novel and introduction to The Witchwood Crown, the upcoming first volume of The Last King of Osten Ard, which will be published just three months after this novel.
Series Overview: The New York Times-bestselling epic fantasy trilogy Memory, Sorrow and Thorn, about a young castle servant who saves his kingdom from evil, defined Tad Williams as one of the most important fantasy writers of our time. This book picks up right where the series left off.


Anonymous said...

I can't wait, have been waiting years for this. :)

creptik said...

Can't wait! Memory Sorrow and Thorn is still my favorite series of all time, one I've read and re-read countless times.