Wednesday, 30 June 2021

WHEEL OF TIME TV series reveals logo and confirms 2021 release

Amazon Prime Television have unveiled the logo for their Wheel of Time TV series and confirmed the previously-strongly-rumoured 2021 release date.

It was previously revealed that Orbit Books are preparing to release their TV tie-in editions of The Eye of the World, the first Wheel of Time novel and the one the first season of the TV show is expected to adapt, on 4 November. Other rumours have suggested that Amazon is targeting Friday 26 November - Black Friday - as a possible launch date, which seems reasonable.

The TV version of the Wheel of Time logo starts off with a spinning disc - which rapidly reveals itself as the sigil of the Aes Sedai in the Age of Legends, what we known of as the yin-yang symbol of balance and dualism, which then turns into the ring version of the ouroboros symbol, of a snake eating its own tail, a symbol in the books representing eternity.

The Wheel of Time is one of the most successful epic fantasy series of all time, selling just under 100 million copies since the first novel was published in 1990. Robert Jordan wrote eleven novels in the series before sadly passing away in 2007; Brandon Sanderson completed the final three books in the series from Jordan's notes and outlines. Set in both a distant future and a distant past (since time is cyclical in the books), the books tell the tale of the rise of the Dragon Reborn, the first man in three and a half millennia able to wield the One Power. Only women have been able to use the One Power safely since every man able to use the Power was cursed to go mad and die. Prophecy states that only the Dragon Reborn can save the world again, but many Aes Sedai - the main organisation of women wielders of the Power - believe that the Dragon Reborn should be destroyed or imprisoned when he is identified. The novels and TV series begin when an Aes Sedai named Moiraine arrives in a remote village called Emond's Field, having believed she has identified three possible candidates for the Dragon Reborn. But she also discovers unexpected secrets in the village and it's a much larger party that sets out for the Aes Sedai stronghold, Tar Valon.

The Wheel of Time TV series stars regular actors Rosamund Pike as Moiraine, Daniel Henney as Lan, Madeleine Madden as Egwene, Zoe Robbins as Nynaeve, Josha Stradowski as Rand, Marcus Rutherford as Perrin, and Barney Harris as Mat. Guest stars include Michael McElhatton as Tam, Alvaro Morte as Logain, Hammed Animashaun as Loial, Alexandre Willaume as Thom, Johann Myers as Padan Fain, Maria Doyle Kennedy as Illa, Kate Fleetwood as Liandrin, Abdul Salis as Eamon Valda, Stuart Graham as Geofram Bornhald, Kae Alexander as Min and Sophie Okonedo as Siuan.

No comments: