Sunday, 26 December 2010

New cover art for 2011

Some new cover art, unearthed by the cover-watchers at

The Mandel Files is a US omnibus of Peter F. Hamilton's excellent Greg Mandel Trilogy: Mindstar Rising (1993), A Quantum Murder (1994) and The Nanoflower (1995). These were Hamilton's first novels, set in a southern England in the late 21st Century devastated by civil war and climate change, and followed the adventures of detective Greg Mandel as he investigates various high-tech mysteries. The omnibus launches on 26 July 2011.

City of Ruin is the second novel in Mark Charan Newton's Legends of the Red Sun series. Already available in the UK, this American edition hits on 28 June 2011.

The American edition of China Mieville's new novel, Embassytown, arrives on 17 May 2011. This is Mieville's first SF novel.

The seventh book in Adrian Tchaikovsky's Shadows of the Apt series, Heirs of the Blade, arrives in the UK on 17 August. I am currently reading the second novel in the series, Dragonfly Falling, and hope to have a review soon.

Launching on the same day is Col Buchanan's Stands a Shadow, the sequel to the intriguing Farlander.


Sci-Fi Gene said...

Great. Will the Peter F. Hamilton omnibus come with any specialized hoisting equipment? or is it printed on pulped liftwood?

Adam Whitehead said...

1,184 pages, shorter than several of his single novels :-) The GREG MANDEL books were pretty short, by Hamilton's normal standards.

Sci-Fi Gene said...

The complete collected works of Shakespeare with added GCSE notes was pretty short by Hamilton's normal standards. Still, think I can probably lift 1,184 pages without breaking too many Health and Safety rules - thanks :)

Anonymous said...

bring on EMBASSYTOWN, yeah!!!

Frank Zweegers said...

Great covers.