Monday, 13 August 2012

New CHUNG KUO cover art

I've previously revealed some of the cover art for the forthcoming volumes of the 'remastered' Chung Kuo series by David Wingrove. The full cover art for Books 3 and 4 - The Middle Kingdom and Ice and Fire - has now been unveiled:

In addition, a tiny thumbnail of the cover art for Book 5, The Art of War, has appeared on the Corvus website:

The current release schedule for the series is:

Book 3: The Middle Kingdom - 18 October 2012
Book 4: Ice and Fire - 1 December 2012
Book 5: The Art of War - 1 March 2013
Book 6: An Inch of Ashes - 1 July 2013

There will be twenty books in the series altogether, already written by David Wingrove and to be published by the end of 2015. The first two books, Son of Heaven and Daylight on Iron Mountain, are already available.


Brad Murgen said...

I can only hope that when Wingrove says "rewritten ending," that it really is rewritten, i.e. changed, and not just expanded from one book to four. I just finished the original version of the series and the way it ended was very disappointing. I may have to wait to find out before buying any of the volumes beyond the prequel.

Mark said...

Brad: Interviewed David last year and he has explained that the ending will be majorly rewritten:

Matt said...

I've posted the high res cover for The Art of War on Of Gifts and Stones, if you're interested. Also, your additions to the Chung Kuo wiki are terrific! I hope we get some more folks contributing.

John said...

full resolution cover for Book 5: The Art of War -

Brad Murgen said...

Thanks for that link, Mark. I hadn't seen that interview. Let's hope it really is different... I'll be anxious to see.

Mike said...

I'm curious to see how the writing style, and how much of the story will be re-written.

I read the first book of the prequel and enjoyed it quite abit.

But, a little hestitant on the new one coming out as it was written over 20 years ago.