Friday 28 September 2018

Where to Start: The Revelation Space Chronology (updated)

It's been nearly ten years since my first crack at a chronology for the Revelation Space series of novels and short stories by Alastair Reynolds. Since then some new books have come out and comments on the original article have revealed a couple of discrepancies which - hopefully! - have now been fixed.

Chronological Order

AD 2205: "Great Wall of Mars" *
2217: "Glacial" *
2230: "A Spy in Europa *
2358: "Weather" *
2427: The Prefect (aka Aurora Rising)
2428: Elysium Fire
c. 2500: "Diamond Dogs" **
c. 2511: "Monkey Suit" ***
c. 2513-40: "Dilation Sleep" *
c. 2520: Chasm City
c. 2540: "Grafenwalder's Bestiary" *
2541: "Turquoise Days" **
2524-2567: Revelation Space
c. 2600: "Nightingale" *
2605-2651: Redemption Ark
c. 2675-3000: Absolution Gap
2303-40,000: "Galactic North" *

* Story in Galactic North
** Novella in Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days
*** Story in Deep Navigation

Best Reading Order

Chasm City
Revelation Space
Redemption Ark
Absolution Gap
Galactic North
The Prefect (aka Aurora Rising)
Elysium Fire

Thank you for reading The Wertzone. To help me provide better content, please consider contributing to my Patreon page and other funding methods, which will also get you exclusive content weeks before it goes live on my blogs. The History of The Wheel of Time, SF&F Questions and The Cities of Fantasy series are debuting on my Patreon feed and you can read them there one month before being published on the Wertzone.

1 comment:

Manethern510 said...

This order of reading still stands??