Saturday, 15 August 2015


Lucasfilm have confirmed that Jurassic World director Colin Trevorrow will be directing Star Wars: Episode IX, following on from Episode VII: The Force Awakens, directed by J.J. Abrams, and Episode VIII, directed by Rian Johnson.

Trevorrow was likely tapped due to the tremendous success of Jurassic World, which is now the third-highest-grossing movie of all time (outdone only by Avatar and Titanic). He was also critically acclaimed for his debut feature film, Safety Not Guaranteed. Trevorrow is producing the fifth Jurassic Park movie but revealed a few weeks ago that he would not be directing. This frees him up to shoot Episode IX.

Not much else is known about Episode IX, save that it will conclude the storylines begun in this December's The Force Awakens and will be based on a story treatment produced by Rian Johnson.

This leaves the Star Wars schedule for the next few years looking like this:

18 December 2015: Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens
16 December 2016: Star Wars: Rogue One
26 May 2017: Star Wars: Episode VIII
25 May 2018: Star Wars: untitled Han Solo movie
2019: Star Wars: Episode IX
TBC: Star Wars: untitled Boba Fett movie

Lucasfilm have also unveiled the poster for The Force Awakens.

No comments: